15 Comments

Walking Through a Dry Spell

They who lack talent expect things to happen without effort. They ascribe failure to a lack of inspiration or ability, or to misfortune, rather than to insufficient application. At the core of every true talent there is an awareness of the difficulties inherent in any achievement, and the confidence that by persistence and patience something worthwhile will be realized. Thus talent is a species of vigor.

- Eric Hoffer

Do you ever go through a dry spell?

I don’t mean a bad mood, or a lazy day. I’m not even referring to the intensity of “Writer’s Block”. I have dozens of topics I could write about, scribbled in notebooks throughout my home.

My problem is the motivation to actually sit down and put thoughts into their written form. This has carried over into Twitter and Facebook as well. So I decided to write about this lack of inspiration, more for my benefit than anything else.

One reason is absolutely clear…I have spent more time reflecting, more time sharing with others, more time in gratitude. Not to mention my mind has been dominated by certain positive thoughts and changes.

Secondly, I have a lot on my plate right now. I have short-term and long-term goals:

Short Term:

  • Prepare yard for summer
  • Finish Website I’ve been developing for a local church
  • Transition “LifeAisle” to my own hosting space, change layout, improve ease of use
  • Begin diet, continue exercise

Long Term:

  • Return to Nursing (part-time)
  • Earn IT certification, seek work from home
  • Pay to become licensed LLC. (for website work, marketing, social media integration for small local businesses)
  • Continue leadership roles within family, peer groups, and community

Just writing these goals out is therapeutic. Having them roll around my head has been like walking around with a weighted backpack. Once I am able to complete some of my outdoor work and website work for the church, I will finally be able to breath.

I have been unemployed for 2 years now. These years have not been a waste. Rather they  have given me the ability to grow and reflect, an advantage that is almost unheard of in 21st century America for someone in their mid-20′s. Fortunately (or unfortunately, depending on perspective), the time has come for me to return to a productive role within society.

Can’t promise to write every day. But as life begins to settle down and slow down once more, I know I will feel the pull to cater to my creative side once again. Don’t worry, I’m not going anywhere. Just temporarily reducing the priority I give this blog.

But I love it too much to leave it. Love it too much to reduce it’s role in my life for long.

Give me a week or 2. :)

15 comments on “Walking Through a Dry Spell

  1. Oh my, yes … the HDD spells i call them. I seem MASSIVELY busy, but NOTHING gets done. However, this could be interpreted as laziness, but i always seem to be running around. What certification are you looking for for IT. I’m asking because i would LOVE to work from home … as the market for 51 chicks isn’t hot and happening. I have a job until ye olde boss decides to pack it in … so i’m trying to sort some LONG TERM and short term goals myself.

    Thanks for sharing this. I feel like i’m sort of in the same space. Melis

    • Oh….and the IT certification? I’ve been studying SharePoint. Google it or look it up on Microsoft “technet”. Its like do-everything intranet for any size business. Going to really pick up in the coming years! So I figure might as well get a head start…

  2. Or is it HDH something or other :-)

    • Hahaha….My buddy and I were just talking and I told him the same thing!

      …think its “ADD” though lol

      Yes! Soo…i sit down to do this website work for this church. CAN’T focus. Think..OK, i’ll go grab my iPod. Well…can’t find my iPod because there is too much crap laying around. Clean up the office, bedroom, car, kitchen….NADA.

      Still can’t find my iPod…but the house is spick and span now…so I guess I’m ok to focus again…

    • Me again; butting in (shock!)

      I am collecting job ideas too. The kid is almost flown; time to roam! I do not want to return to politics. I need a job list. I need a blog roll i need to do laundry, I need to mail some death certificates

      ADD? Is there a 12 step way out of this?

  3. “The power of imagination makes us infinite.”
    John Muir

    “Our waking hours form the text of our lives, our dreams, the commentary.”
    Anonymous

  4. Troy, thanks so much for this post! I’m right there in the middle of the desert ! You’ve got such talent and I look forward to seeing where your life aisles take you! Loved the Johnny Cash piece !

  5. lots on your plate right now. good luck managing it. often I have to get rid of one big project so that I can focus on the others without being overwhelmed.

  6. Sounds like it’s not a bad thing if you’re spending alot of time reflecting on gratitude, goals and turning things on professionally. In the past I definitely wrote less when things were ‘good.’ Trials and challenges would come though and the ink would spill out. These days (mostly since becoming sober) I find it necessary to write personally nearly every day, often throughout the day. Approaching my new blog is a different challenge, and it takes on a different form and feel. I would likely not write in it every single day. That said, I encourage you to write more ‘offline’. I find it tremendously useful to track my thought process as I navigate life. Often my recall is poor:) Being able to see the continuity of my process and the themes in my life is invaluable. Professional goals, relationships, the inner ‘utilities & settings’, you name it. It’s all fair game. In any case, I’d just let it ride. If inspiration is calling for space that’s probably good.

  7. Troy! Man! You are one busy ambitious guy.

    You will succeed. You got Pluck (as my Southern father in laws mom would have said…)

    XO Jen

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 341 other followers

